Seal of Dane County County of Dane
Dane County Land & Water Resources Department

2007 Dane County Waters Champion Award Recipients Announced

June 13, 2007
Contact: Sue Jones, 224-3764,; Marcia Hartwig, 224-3746,
Land & Water Resources

The Dane County Lakes and Watershed Commission has announced its 2007 Waters Champion Award recipients. 2007 Waters Champions Steve Haak, Dr. Jennifer Hauxwell, Yahara Waterways Water Trail Project Team and Glenn Stephens Elementary School will be honored at a reception Thursday, June 7th at 5:30 p.m. in the Terrace Room at the Madison Club (5 East Wilson Street), followed by recognition by the Dane County Board of Supervisors at its 7:00 p.m. meeting at the City County Building, Room 201. In addition, Sue Jones, Watershed Management Coordinator will give the State of the Waters address during the program at the County Board meeting. The public is invited to attend both events. The Dane County Waters Champion Awards are given annually to recognize individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions toward protecting and improving Dane County’s water resources. Their work has made a positive impact on water quality as well as the scenic, economic, recreational and environmental value of those lakes and streams. “The lakes, rivers, streams and wetlands are so much a part of the quality of life we enjoy in Dane County,” said Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk. “I am pleased to join the Commission in recognizing these individuals and groups who have given their time and talents to make sure our waters are viable for years to come.” “This year’s award winners illustrate the great things that individuals, organizations and youth are doing to protect and improve our lakes, rivers and drinking water,” said Dane County Lakes and Watershed Commission Chair Brett Hulsey. Individuals: Steve Haak – Haak is a farmer and member of several conservation groups, including the Upper Sugar River Watershed Association, the Dane County FSA Committee and the Dane County Land Conservation Committee who has devoted more than 2000 hours towards resource protection and enhancement in the Upper Sugar River Watershed. Dr. Jennifer Hauxwell – DNR researcher Hauxwell has been an invaluable resource for the county’s aquatic plant management committee, and is assisting with implementation of its recommendations, particularly concerning methods to control Eurasian water milfoil, and restoration of native plant communities. Organization: Yahara Waterways Water Trail Project Team – This Team worked together to develop an environmental, historical and cultural guide to the Yahara River from Cherokee Marsh to Lake Kegonsa. Team members include representatives from Madison Audubon, Capitol Water Trails, River Alliance of Wisconsin, Mad-City Paddlers, Friends of Lake Kegonsa Society, Rutabaga Paddlesports, Rock River Coalition, and others. Youth: Glenn Stephens Elementary School – Teacher Julie Fuller and the fourth and fifth graders at Glenn Stephens built a rain garden at the school. Students applied for a grant from the school’s PTO, selected the site and the plants, planted the rain garden, tended it, and conducted tours and educated more than 400 students from the entire school on the importance of protecting Dane County’s waters. The Dane County Waters Champion presentation and State of the Waters address unofficially kick off the 13th annual Take a Stake in the Lakes Week, June 9-17 (formerly Yahara Lakes Week), an annual series of community events, activities and hands-on workshops that highlight the importance of the lakes, rivers, streams and wetlands to the quality of life in Dane County. For more information, visit ###